Almond ka-chaiii!

So! A more upbeat post today, I have been needing to cut out my dairy intake as I find that it affects me with regards to my breathing and so on (gross winter stuffiness) so I grabbed a book – Healing Spices by Bharat B. Aggarwal, PhD.

Let me say, great book! I took notes at work and at home as you can see and I think I will make a mural or something in the kitchen because I think I will use this book as my bible for a long time to come!

I adapted a recipe in the book to suit myself and I almost burnt myself trying to sip it so much the aroma and fragrance of the spices just entranced me! Enjoy lovelies!

Almond ka-chai tea:
10 cardamom pods- take seeds out of pods
1 one-inch long cinnamon stick
4 white peppercorns
Pinch of ground aniseed
2 cups almond milk, sugar free
2 cups of boiling water
1 tbsp of raw sugar
3 tea bags (I chose Barry’s…)

In a pot dry roast all the spices together (cardamom, cinnamon, peppercorns and aniseed). Heat until fragrant, about five minutes. Transfer to mortar and grind to fine powder (I failed this step, those who are like me, keep a mesh colander handy :))

Back in the pot, heat almond milk with ground spices and sugar. Boil water in kettle or pot for teabags. Let tea sit about 3-4 minutes then add (I put bags and all) to almond milk. Let simmer 2 minutes. Serve hot OR cold :D!

P.s. I apologize, picture was taken with phone… will hopefully have other options soon!

Leave a Reply

